Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers - Miami Chapter

Nomination are Now Open59th FACDL- Miami Annual Awards Gala

Gregg Wenzel Outstanding Young Lawyer’s Award

Given in recognition of a young lawyer who exemplifies hard work in the legal area and in service to the community. This award is named in honor of the late Gregg Wenzel who was a strong advocate for his clients and a devoted mentor to his colleagues. Beyond his work as a lawyer, Gregg was also a CIA agent who was killed in the line of duty. 

Honorable Gerald Kogan Judicial Distinction Award 

Given in recognition of an extraordinary career contribution and dedicated service to the improvement of the criminal justice system and for the preservation of constitutional rights. This award is named in honor of the late Judge Gerald Kogan for his outstanding career as lawyer, judge, and advocate against the death penalty. 

Daniel S. Pearson – Harry W. Prebish Founders Award

Given in recognition of a lifetime commitment to the preservation of the constitutional rights of all citizens and for manifesting the very best principles for which FACDL-Miami stands: an openhearted devotion to justice, civility, discretion, courage, respect for human dignity and mercy. 

Rodney Thaxton “Agains All Odds” Award

Given to a criminal defense lawyer who has undertaken a particularly difficult or unpopular client or cause, represents the heart and spirit of criminal defense, and who epitomizes the courage of the criminal defense lawyer to stand apart, and often alone, as Liberty’s Last Champion. This award is named for the late Rodney Thaxton, a truly legendary advocate for the criminally accused.