Executive Board

President, Carmen Vizcaino is a partner at Wahid Vizcaino LLP, located in Miami, Florida. Over her almost 20 years of practice she has represented both individuals and corporations in complex litigation matters in over 100 trials. Ms. Vizcaino practices criminal and civil litigation in multiple jurisdictions with a focus on defending those charged with financial crimes, regulatory violations and corporate licensing violations. Ms. Vizcaino also works on national security litigation and has top secret security clearance from the Department of Justice.

Ms. Vizcaino is regarded among the premier litigators in Miami as she regularly engages in high profile and novel litigation. Ms. Vizcaino was a member of the trial team that litigated issues on money transfers to individuals who reside in locations where the US government has deemed alleged terrorist operate. She was awarded for her work protecting civil liberties during the massive United States detention of immigrants and American Muslims following the events of 9/11. She spearheaded the litigation against the State of Florida in the case of State v. Hardy, making sure those who cannot afford an attorney do not remain in jail without an attorney being appointed to them. Ms Vizcaino received the President’s Award from the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers for litigation in support of the less fortunate against the Governor of the State of Florida.

Ms. Vizcaino is a native of Miami, the daughter of Cuban immigrants. She attended Florida International University obtaining a B.A. She then went on to obtain her Juris Doctor degree graduating second in her class from St. Thomas University School of Law. Ms. Vizcaino is an ardent advocate of minority rights with a focus on women’s issues. She is the chair of a political action committee which focuses on legislative issues related to women. Ms. Vizcaino currently sits on the executive board of the Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers.

Vice President, Michelle Estlund is the founder and principal attorney of Estlund Law, P.A., located in Miami, Florida. Michelle’s practice focuses exclusively on criminal and INTERPOL defense cases, with an emphasis on human rights violations and politically motivated prosecution. Michelle regularly advises international journalists, human rights organizations, and other attorneys on issues related to INTERPOL (the International Criminal Police Organization).

Michelle has successfully represented Red Notice subjects before INTERPOL by achieving the removal of Red Notices in their names, as well as having Red Notices modified or corrected. She writes extensively about INTERPOL matters on her blog, the Red Notice Law Journal. Her current practice is the culmination of the consistent pursuit of equality and fairness under the law, and is based in the belief that quality legal representation requires highly personalized client service.

Treasurer, Damaris Del Valle has worked at the Miami-Dade Public Defender’s Office since 2009 and is currently a Senior Supervising Attorney. In 2005, she graduated from Stetson University with honors. She majored in history and philosophy and minored in Women and Gender Studies. She went onto law and graduate school at the University of Cincinnati. In 2009, she earned her Juris Doctorate as well as a Master’s Degree in Women’s studies. She was awarded the FACDL-Miami’s Gregg Wenzel Young Lawyer Award in 2015. 

Secretary, Matthew Meyers is the founder and managing partner of Matthew P. Meyers, PA located in Miami, Florida.  Since 2013, Matthew has focused exclusively on criminal defense.  Prior to the establishment of his firm Mr. Meyers was an Assistant State Attorney, having served as a supervisor in the Misdemeanor Domestic Violence Unit, Traffic Homicide Unit, and Human Trafficking Unit.  Throughout his career, Matt has tried cases ranging from misdemeanors to homicide, in both state and federal courts.  In addition to his work with FACDL-Miami, Matthew serves as the Young Lawyer’s Committee Co-Chair for the Statewide FACDL organization.

Immediate Past President, Marcos Beaton is a partner at Black, Srebnick, Kornspan and Stumpf. He began his career as an attorney at the Miami-Dade Public Defender’s Office in 2002. Marcos has focused his practice on complex criminal matters, often representing doctors, lawyers and successful business professionals.

He has handled misdemeanors, where professional licenses may be on the line, all the way up to highly complex securities fraud cases, complex tax cases, racketeering cases, and even first degree murder. He has tried multi-week and multi-month cases in both federal and state court and has participated in many exhaustive pre-indictment and pre-arraignment investigations. Marcos is also and adjunct professor at the University of Miami School of Law, where he teaches a criminal evidence workshop with his partner Roy Black.

Board of Directors

  • Milena Abreau
  • Jessica Albert
  • Rossana Arteaga-Gomez
  • Katie Carmon
  • Audra Cohen
  • Mariano Corcilli
  • Michael T. Davis
  • Christopher DeCoste
  • Zena Duncan
  • Christian Dunham
  • David Edelstein
  • Marissa Glatzer
  • Nayib Hassan
  • Kevin Hellman
  • Phil Horowitz
  • Tara Kawass
  • Lauren Krasnoff
  • Preeti Lala
  • Tony Moss
  • Sherri A. Romano
  • Warren Schwartz
  • Keyla Smith
  • Daniel Tibbet
  • Abbie Waxman

Young Lawyer Directors

Matt Meyers

Federal and State Public Defender and Regional Conflict

Public Defender Carlos J. Martinez

Federal Defender Michael Caruso

Regional Counsel Eugene Zenobi

Statewide Chapter Representatives

Last Name First Name Middle Name
Beaton Jr. Marcos
Kirlew Brian
Llorente Betty
Meyers Matthew
Sands Leonard A.

Life Members

Michael A. Catalano

Robert Coulombe Jr.

Ramon De La Cabada

Christopher DeCoste

Patrick S. Dray

Mark R. Eiglarsh

Scott H. Fingerhut

Rick Freedman

Edith Georgi

Michael A. Haber

Kenneth P. Hassett

David Joffe

Albert J. Krieger

Benedict P. Kuehne

Beatriz A. Llorente

David O. Markus

Margot Moss

Tony Moss

Paul Petruzzi

Sabrina Puglisli

Elliot H. Scherker

Janice Burton Sharpstein

Brian L. Tannebam

Barry Wax

Jeffrey S. Weiner

Eugene Zenobi

Past Presidents/Directors Emeritus

Year Name
2016 Brian Kirlew
2015 Teresa Enriquez
2014 Margot Moss
2013 Eduardo X. Pereira
2012 Jude M. Faccidomo
2011 Beatriz A. “Betty" Llorente
2010 Sabrina Puglisi
2009 Hector L. Flores
2008 Rick Freedman
2007 Barry M. Wax
2006 David O. Markus
2005 Brian L. Tannebaum
2004 H. Scott Fingerhut
2003 Kenneth P. Hassett
2002 Paul M. Rashkind
2001 Leonard A. Sands
2000 Gregory A. Prebish
1999 Jeffrey E. Feiler
1998 Kenneth M. Swartz
1997 Pamela I. Perry
1996 Honorable Richard L. Hersch
1995 Steven M. Potolsky
1994 Honorable Robert N. Scola, Jr.
1993 David B. Rothman
1992 William Aaron
1991 Honorable Milton Hirsch
1990 Benedict P. Kuehne
1989 Jose M. Quinon
1988 Honorable Theodore Klein (dec.)
1987 Edward R. Shohat
1986 Richard A. Sharpstein (dec.)
1985 Richard A. Sharpstein (dec.)
1984 Neal R. Sonnett
1982 Honorble Stanford Blake
1981 Jeffrey S. Weiner
1980 Stephen J. Bronis
1979 Honorable Ronald C. Dresnick
1978 Alan E. Weinstein
1977 James G. Gilmour
1976 Thomas J. Morgan, Sr.
1975 Sky E. Smith
1974 Marco B. Loffredo(dec.)
1973 Marco B. Loffredo(dec.)
1970 Walter Gwynn (dec.)
1969 Robert L. Koeppel
1968 Arthur B. Stark (dec.)
1967 Arthur B. Stark (dec.)
1966 Mitchell M. Goldman
1965 Philip Carlton
1964 Philip Carlton
1963 Harry W. Prebish (dec.)